Panini #1: crab and artichoke pesto

In an effort to come up with easy weeknight meals, I plan to have a “panini night” once a week.  This week I brought home a shiny, new panini press and away I went!  My very first panini was somewhat of a success.  I used fresh crab, a slice of cheddar and William Sonoma’s artichoke parmesan pesto.  I say this sandwich was somewhat of a success because I grilled it perfectly and it was a nice lunch, however, I felt the artichoke pesto overpowered the flavor of the crab.  I was surprised because a favorite family meal growing up was crab stuffed artichokes.  I figured I was sort of recreating that meal in the form of a sandwich, yet the result was not as wonderful as I had hoped.  I will try the pesto in some sort of chicken combo next time.  I will definitely try crab again, minus the pesto.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

