Panini #2: Italian Chicken

Not the greatest “food picture” (sorry), but a tasty sandwich.  This panini consisted of grilled chicken, tomatoes, avocado, mozzarella and basil leaves.  I learned a few things along the way with this sandwich: 1) I do not prefer fresh mozzarella.  I read several recommendations to use fresh over processed if possible, so of course I did.  Perhaps I am just not sophisticated enough, but I felt the fresh mozzarella had very little taste.  Next time I plan to use processed mozzarella for a stronger flavor.  2) I need to do all the prep-work during the baby’s afternoon nap.  I had grilled the chicken on my hand-dandy, new panini press during nap time, but I did not assemble the sandwiches.  As silly as it sounds, all the slicing and putting together still takes time and my goal with paninis is to spend as little time in the kitchen as possible while the girls are doing their needy thing.  Next panini night, I will have the sandwiches assembled and prepared for grilling during nap time so that all I have to do is pop them on the panini press when it is time to eat.

I found the link to this particular sandwich here: Italian chicken panini.  It was very good and I will make it again.

2 responses

  1. Your first two paninis look wonderful and it is a learning process getting the flavors where you want them but you’ll find your groove and have those sandwiches ready to press as needed. Love the tagline on the blog, very cute!

  2. Oh yum!!! I have to make that sandwich. It looks so good. I’m jealous of your panini maker. I’ll have to try to do it on my little indoor grill, but somehow I don’t think it will work as well.

Leave a Reply

