Panini #3: ham & cheese

I will have to get better at taking food pictures.  This sandwich was awesome, even though it looks pretty boring.  When my husband suggested we try ham & cheese next, I imagine he was thinking a slab of ham and a slice of cheddar, end of story.  Too bad he married me.  I went poking around online and found Martha Stewart’s recipe for a ham and cheese panini here.  I knew it would hit the spot.  It’s very similar to a Croque Monsieur, with ham, Gruyère, and Dijon, but without the sauce and with crackling browned shallots and fresh thyme.  It was perfect.  Will definitely make this again.

2 responses

  1. For some reason, I am struggling to leave comments on this blog. Am I missing something? I had to click on the date of your post in order to open a comment box. EIther way, your last two sandwiches have looked fabulous. (Your first one looked great, too, but I think I commented on it.) I’m curious about the type of bread you’re using. When I’ve done panini sandwiches, I’ve used Italian loaf, French bread, and average sandwich bread – all with different and unique results. Yours looks so yummy!

  2. Kathleen, I’ll try and figure out what is going on with the comments.

    I’ve been using the Vienna loaf artisan bread from my local grocery store. I should probably play around with different types of bread, but so far, the Vienna loaf is the perfect weight and texture for paninis and has complimented my different sandwiches very well.

Leave a Reply

