Apple Kuchen

Many summers when I was young, we would have a big, family reunion at Black Butte Ranch in Oregon.  My mom always made this apple kuchen for a special breakfast.  It was indeed special, as we weren’t even allowed sugared cereals on regular mornings.  I’ve since made this on special occasions, including a ladies tea.  My husband loves it (although he wasn’t at the tea) and so do most people who try it (including me).  I don’t know where my mother got this particular recipe, but here it is:

Apple Kuchen

Crust:
1/2 cup softened butter
yellow cake mix
1/2 cup coconut

2 1/2 cups peeled, apple slices  (I use 3 or 4 medium green apples.)

Mix butter into cake mix until crumbly.  Stir coconut in.  Press into greased baking dish (9×13).   Arrange apples on crust.  Bake 10 minutes at 350.

Custard Topping:

1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 egg yolks
1 cup sour cream

Mix cinnamon and sugar and sprinkle over apples.  Mix egg yolks with sour cream and drizzle (or glop) over apples.  Bake all for 25 minutes at 350 degrees or until dry.  Cool.  Serve at room temperature or chilled.

3 responses

  1. How nice! I’ve always heard you talk about making apple kuchen and just assumed it would be too hard for me. I don’t know why – maybe because I don’t know what a “kuchen” is? But this really looks like something I could make – and I know we’d love it. Hey, do you think it would work with peaches, too? Because I think I want it now, but I don’t have any apples right now. I DO have peaches, though!

  2. Hey Colleen – I’m about to make your Apple Kuchen this weekend for breakfast for my “apple” entry in This Week’s Cravings. By coconut, do you mean the shredded coconut that you can find in the baking aisle?

Leave a Reply

