Chocolate Chip Gingersnaps

It felt like autumn arrived in Seattle today.  Instead of sunshine and eighty degrees, we dropped into the cloudy sixties; a perfect excuse to make cookies!  These little babies are one of my favorite fall cookies.  They are lightly crispy on the outside, while soft and chewy on the inside.  The warm whoosh of molasses, ginger and a hint of cloves each time I opened the oven door today was pure heaven.  Bring on the crunchy leaves and sweaters, I’m ready!

Gingersnaps

3/4 cup shortening or butter
1 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup molasses
1 egg
2 1/4 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon ginger
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon cloves
Half bag of mini chocolate chips, if desired.

Cream together first four ingredients.  Sift together dry ingredients and stir into molasses mixture.  Stir in chips, if using (it’s surprising how complimentary chocolate is in this recipe).  Form into small balls and roll in sugar.  Place two inches apart on greased cookie sheet.  Bake at 375º for about nine minutes.  Cool and enjoy!

Sugary balls of cookie dough waiting to be baked:

And the finished product:

Totally yum!

4 responses

  1. Try it with butter and let me know what you think. I’ve always wondered about that (this is an old recipe I use). I think with butter, the cookies will flatten out more and with shortening or margarine, they keep their plump shape better. Either way, I’m sure they would taste good!

  2. Totally yum is right! I also wondered about shortening. I remember making cookies with my mom when I was little and she always used shortening, but it seems like it isn’t used as much anymore. I have a feeling, though, that the cookies will be better with the shortening. I tried one of her old recipes with butter once, and the cookies were not as chewy. I may have to run out and buy what I need so that I can make these. I love gingersnaps!

  3. I’m sure it violates some law somewhere, but I’m going to cross the line and say that your blog is looking a bit “pioneerwoman-esque” these days! Pretty cookie pictures!

Leave a Reply

