Crispy Yogurt Chicken

Best crispy chicken I’ve ever made!  (Well, that does not include an excellent parmesan chicken recipe I make, which is also crispy.)  My entire family enjoyed this dinner, even my extremely picky eater.  Loved the garlic and lemon flavors in this chicken.  The recipe comes from The Pioneer Woman; crispy yogurt chicken.  The only change I made was to use plain, Greek yogurt instead of plain, regular yogurt.  The cooking time also did not work out for me.  I was supposed to bake the chicken covered for one hour and then uncovered for 15 minutes.  I had to bake my chicken uncovered for 45 more minutes before it got crispy – so it cooked for nearly two hours (and still was not too dry!).  The next time I make this recipe, I will bake it covered for 30 minutes and uncovered for 45.  (I sometimes think that my oven does not get as hot as it should, so this could have been the problem.)

CRISPY YOGURT CHICKEN

Ingredients

  • 2 cups plain, Greek yogurt
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • chopped parsley to taste
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • chicken breasts (or whatever parts you prefer)
  • salt to taste
  • 2 cups Panko bread crumbs
  • butter (1 pat for each piece of chicken)

Preparation Instructions

Pour yogurt into a mixing bowl. Peel and mince garlic; add garlic to the yogurt. Chop up a small amount of fresh parsley and add it to the yogurt. Add lemon juice. Mix together to combine.

Rinse chicken and pat it dry. Sprinkle with (kosher) salt.

In another bowl, place the bread crumbs. Sprinkle with salt and stir lightly.

Butter a baking dish. With a pair of tongs, place the chicken, one piece at a time into the yogurt mixture. Turn it over thoroughly to coat. Then roll the chicken in the Panko bread crumbs. Cover each piece thoroughly with bread crumbs and place in the baking dish.

Place a slice of butter over the large part of each chicken piece. Cover with foil and bake in a 350º oven for 1 to 1 ¼ hours, removing the foil for the last 15 minutes of cooking. When the chicken is nice and golden, remove from the oven and enjoy!

4 responses

  1. Looks yummy! And – hey! – there’s a “comment” button down here, now! Thanks for including the cooking tweaks you encountered in this recipe. It looks good and I’ll add it to my must try list. (But it will need to get in line behind chicken satay.)

  2. Pingback: “You can’t control the autism.” | Children, let's eat!

Leave a Reply

