Lime Chicken with Mango Salsa

I was trying to take an artistic picture when the baby crashed and began wailing, so this is what you get.  There is chicken under that salsa, trust me.  I was brave with this recipe because I’m not one that likes to mix fruit with meat or poultry.  This was so, so easy; marinate the chicken in orange and lime juices and garlic.  Grill.  Dump some mango salsa on it.  My husband and I both enjoyed the meal very much.  So did the baby!

I found this recipe here: lime grilled chicken with mango salsa, but I will post below.  The recipe includes making your own mango salsa, but I cheated and bought mine from Costco (mango salsa with peach).

SALSA
–         2 mangoes – peeled and diced
–         1 red pepper – seeded and diced
–         1/2 cup orange juice
–         2 limes – juiced
–         1/4 cup fresh basil – minced or 2 TBS. jarred basil
–         1 jalapeño – seeded and chopped fine
–         salt and pepper – to taste

CHICKEN MARINADE

–         1/2 cup orange juice
–         2 tablespoons frozen limeade, thawed
–         3 cloves garlic, minced (my addition)
–         salt and pepper
–         6 boneless, skinless, chicken breasts

* Salsa – combine all ingredients and season with salt and pepper. Cover and refrigerate for at least 2 hours.
* Chicken marinade – Combine orange juice, limeade, garlic salt, pepper in plastic bag. Add chicken. Seal bag and turn bag to combine ingredients and cover chicken. Marinate in refrigerator at least 2 hours.
* Heat grill to medium. Remove chicken from marinade and grill until brown, about 5-7 minutes each side, depending on thickness.
* Top with mango salsa and serve.  (I heated the salsa.)

3 responses

  1. I love fruit with salsa, fruit with meat, fruit with cereal, fruit in salad, and fruit with seafood. Fruit by itself? Well, whatever. But it ROCKS with other stuff. I will definitely be trying this one.

Leave a Reply

