Spicy Garlic Shrimp

Loved this!  It was easy to make and had excellent flavor.  I already had everything I needed in my kitchen except for the shrimp.  I will definitely be adding this to our rotation of meals.  (I found the recipe on a blog I stumbled upon called The Foodie Couple.)


Prawns in Spicy Garlic Sauce
 (adapted from San Francisco Encore):
1 lb. medium prawn cleaned & peeled
1.5 tspns corn starch
1/4 tspn salt
Dash of pepper
1.5 tspns chili paste with garlic
1.5 Tblspns ketchup
1 1/4 Tbslpns oyster sauce
1 Tblspn sugar
2 Tblspns white wine
1.5 Tblspns sesame oil
2 tspns finely chopped garlic
1 green onion, chopped
Add cornstarch to clean prawns with salt & pepper. Mix well. Set aside.
Mix the chili paste, ketchup, oyster sauce, sugar, white wine, and sesame oil. Heat a wok or skillet. Add the oil and garlic.  (There was no mention of what oil or how much to add, so I used 2 tablespoons of peanut oil.) Stir fry for 30 seconds. Add the prawns and stir fry for 2 minutes over high heat. Add the sauce and continue cooking for an additional minute. Remove to serving platter and garnish with green onion.
One response

  1. That looks really good and though I’m not sure about the oyster sauce (as I don’t have any in the house) it all appears to be Maisie safe! I’ll have to give this one a try.

Leave a Reply

