Greek Chicken Bake (revised)

 

Super easy dinner – and tasty!  My husband and children enjoyed it just as it is in the picture.  I also prepared a tzatziki sauce (earlier in the day for best flavor) for dipping, which I found made this simple dish delicious.  (But then, I would dip almost anything in tzatziki sauce, so maybe I’m not the best judge.)  I found the original recipe for the chicken at Simply Delicious.  I basically followed her recipe, but added red potatoes, zucchini and feta.  I also needed to cook it much longer than she noted.

GREEK CHICKEN BAKE

6 to 8 chicken thighs, skin on
1 head of garlic, individual cloves peeled
1 red onions, cut into small wedges
3 or 4 red or white potatoes, cut up into bite sized pieces

1 large zucchini, cut into bite sized pieces

1/2 cup (or more) feta cheese

Kalamata olives to taste
olive oil, to drizzle
2 tsp dried oregano or Greek seasoning
salt & pepper to taste
juice of 1 lemon

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Place the potatoes, red onion wedges, zucchini, whole garlic cloves, feta and calamata olives in a large, oven-proof dish coated with Pam.  Add chicken thighs on top.
  3. Drizzle the lemon juice and olive oil over everything.  Sprinkle with dried herbs and salt/pepper.
  4. Place it in the oven and allow to roast for about an hour or until the chicken is cooked throughout and the skin is golden and crisp.
  5. Serve with Tzatziki (my favorite recipe here: Anghelika’s Tsatsiki), warm pita breads and extra lemon wedges, if desired, although this dish makes an excellent sauce on its own.

P.S. Look at my picture and you’ll notice that I forgot the Kalamata olives – sob!

One response

  1. I think it looks wonderful and I love the giant cloves of garlic, never too much garlic. I would leave out the olives as I don’t like the flavor so just the way you made it…and dipped in Tzatzaki is the way I’d go.

Leave a Reply

