Colleen’s Turkey Chili (for the crockpot)

Everybody seems to have an opinion about what makes a good chili.  I know a lot of people enjoy the large kidney beans and lots of veggies.  I’m more of a purest when it comes to my favorite chili.  I prefer the small, firm chili beans and aside from the tomatoes and onions, no other veggies.  When I originally began making this chili, I used hamburger.  Then one day in an attempt to make it healthier, I begrudgingly tried ground turkey.  Honestly, this is one of those recipes where it is really hard to tell the difference.  Because the ground turkey has been cooking in the chili sauce for four or five hours, it just tastes like chili meat.  So I’m sticking with the turkey (but hamburger is tasty too).

COLLEEN’S TURKEY CHILI

1+ lbs. ground turkey or hamburger

1 onion, chopped

3 (15 oz) cans chili beans

1 (14.5 oz) can diced tomatoes

3 tsp. Worcestershire

3 tsp. vinegar

3 tsp. brown sugar

2 tsp. lemon juice

1 tsp. salt (or to taste)

1 tsp. dry mustard

1 tsp. garlic powder

1 TBS chili powder

1. Brown ground turkey or hamburger and chopped onions in skillet.  Drain and place in slow cooker.

2. Add rest of ingredients.  Mix well.  Cook on high for four or five hours.  Serve with favorite chili toppings.

One response

  1. I often use turkey when making chili and Bolognese sauce because in the end you really can’t tell the difference. Good chatting yesterday, sorry it was so brief…and that I cut you off.

Leave a Reply

