Banana French Toast

This was introduced to me in 1989 while I was a nanny in Connecticut.  I’d never heard of “banana” French toast before, but became an instant fan.  Turns out banana and maple are marvelously compatible flavors.  In my experience making this French toast, it does not become crisp on the outside like regular French toast because of the banana; the bread remains rather soft.  However, the fabulous flavor more than makes up for the difference in texture.  On the special occasions when I make this, I always wonder why I don’t make it more often.  It’s wonderful.  (My picky eater ate four slices tonight!)

BANANA FRENCH TOAST

1/2  banana, sliced

3 eggs

2 or 3 TBS. milk

dash of cinnamon

1/4 tsp. vanilla

good bread, preferably several days old

In a blender, add banana, eggs, milk, cinnamon and vanilla.  Blend until smooth (will look frothy).  Pour mixture into a wide dish.  Dip slices of bread in egg mixture until coated.  Cook on griddle until golden brown; flip and cook other side.  Top with butter and maple syrup.  Delightful!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

