Strawberry-Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

Brown bananas in the fruit bowl; what to do?  Make these muffins, that’s what!  These were a perfect treat for my girls, who are fruit lovers – plus mini chocolate chips as an added bonus!  I found this recipe here: Strawberry-Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins.  I followed the recipe exactly (except for using mini chips over regular size), yet I discovered that there wasn’t enough flour in my first batch.  I often find that whatever I’m baking needs more flour than the recipe calls for; I don’t know what that’s about.  So I wasn’t thrilled with my first batch of these muffins, as they didn’t rise enough and were a bit mushy.  Once I added more flour, my second batch was perfect.  And delicious.  I will make these again.

Strawberry-Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F/180 degrees C and grease a 16 cup muffin pan or place 16 paper muffin cup liners in muffin pan.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt.
  3. In another bowl, whisk the egg, oil, sour cream (or plain yogurt can be used) and vanilla. Stir into dry ingredients just until moistened. Fold in bananas, chopped strawberries and chocolate chips.
  4. Fill greased or paper-lined muffin cups two-thirds full. Bake in preheated oven for 22-25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean (toothpick inserted into center of muffin may be a bit moist and gooey because of using fresh chopped strawberries, but that’s alright). Cool for 5 minutes before removing from pans to wire racks to cool completely.
One response

Leave a Reply

