Carrot Slaw

This was a very tasty, very easy side salad.  Loved it.  I recently purchased the cookbook Around My French Table and this is the first recipe I’ve tried from it.  I cheated and bought matchstick carrots instead of shredding the carrots myself.

1 pound carrots, trimmed and peeled

2 TBS Dijon mustard

1 TBS honey

1/4 cup cider vinegar

1/2 cup canola oil

salt and pepper to taste

currants/raisins, chopped walnuts, chopped fresh parsley – all optional (I didn’t use any of them)

1. Grate the carrots, squeezing out excess water when done.  (Or cheat like I did and buy matchstick carrots.)

2. Combine mustard, honey, vinegar and oil, mix well to make a thick dressing.

3. Before you are ready to serve, toss carrots with dressing and add salt and pepper as needed.

Broiled Greek Fish

I’m sorry this doesn’t look more appetizing.  It was different, but in a good way.  In fact, there were zero leftovers, if that says anything about the recipe.  Honestly, I don’t know if there is a recipe which includes Greek yogurt that I don’t like.  This white fish with a Greek yogurt sauce hit the spot.  I served it with a marinated, white bean salad (which probably wasn’t the best choice aesthetically, as I ended up with a rather anemic looking dinner).

Ingredients

  • 8 tilapia fillets (4 ounces each) (I used fresh cod.)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/4 cup plain yogurt (Obviously, I used Greek and probably more like 1/3 cup.)
  • 2 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice
  • 1 small red onion, finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup pitted Greek olives
  • 1 teaspoon dill weed
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese

Directions

  • Sprinkle tilapia with salt and pepper. Place on a broiler pan coated with cooking spray.
  • In a small bowl, combine the yogurt, butter and lime juice. Stir in the onion, olives and seasonings. Spread down the middle of each fillet; sprinkle with feta cheese.
  • Broil 3-4 in. from the heat for 6-9 minutes or until fish flakes easily with a fork. Yield: 8 servings.

I skipped the Greek olives in the recipe (although I love them) because my husband is not a fan.  I was feeling nice.

The recipe for the bean salad (which is quite nice) can be found here: marinated white bean salad.  I halved the salad recipe.