Crab & Egg Salad Sandwich

This was an excellent sandwich for a warm summer’s evening.  I boiled the eggs in the morning when the house was still cool.  I made the salad in the afternoon during the little one’s nap and put it in the fridge to chill.  All I had to do at dinner time was glop some on a nice bun.  (Unfortunately, I forgot to get lettuce at the store, which I would have enjoyed and would have helped this picture pop a bit more.)  What intrigued me about this recipe was the addition of chili sauce.  I adore crab Louis salads, which include hard egg and a dressing that contains chili sauce (recipe here).  I realized that this recipe is almost a crab Louis sandwich.  (If only I’d remembered that lettuce and thought to add a nice slice of tomato!)  The original recipe can be found here: Crab Salad Tea Sandwiches.  Since I was only making enough for two sandwiches, I just sort of added what seemed reasonable.  I didn’t really measure anything.

4 hard-cooked eggs, chopped

1 cup crab

one scallion, chopped

two squirts lime juice

1 to 2 TBS chili sauce

salt to taste

mayo to bind (several tablespoons)

paprika

Mix all ingredients together through mayo.  Scoop onto preferred bread or bun.  Sprinkle with paprika.  Add lettuce and tomato to sandwich if desired and serve, or chill until ready to serve.  (The original recipe included celery in the salad, which I skipped.)  My amounts actually made enough for three sandwiches.

Leave a Reply

