Chicken in Pepperoni Sauce

Sorry about the sad, rather unappealing picture of this dish.  I had no time to pretty it up, but the meal is truly delicious.  Please check out the blog where I found the recipe; Ambitious Kitchen.  She did a beautiful job with her food pictures.  I have to admit, I’m a bit of snob about using jarred sauce; I usually make my own.  But in this recipe, after adding sautéed garlic & pepperoni, as well as oregano and fresh basil to the sauce, it tastes wonderful.  The first time I made this dish, I skipped the pasta for a low-carb version.  This time, I happened to have some leftover linguine from another meal, so I slipped it under the chicken and sauce.  My husband raved about this dinner.  It’s easy to make and tastes fabulous.  Here is how I prepared it (Ambitious Kitchen made a lighter version):

Skillet Chicken with Spicy Pepperoni-Tomato Sauce

1 TBS olive oil

3 cloves of garlic, minced

1/2 a bag of sliced pepperoni, coarsely chopped

1 1/2 cups tomato pasta sauce

1/4 teaspoon dried oregano

1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes (I skipped this)

2 tablespoons fresh basil, chopped

2 TBS olive oil

1 1/2 pounds chicken breast tenders

1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

1 to 2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese

Directions:

  1. Heat 1 tablespoons olive oil in a saucepan over medium-high heat.  Add garlic and pepperoni; cook 2 minutes or until garlic begins to brown, stirring frequently. Add oregano; cook 30 seconds. Add tomato sauce; bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer 5 minutes. Remove from heat; stir in basil.
  2. Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add 2 tablespoons olive oil. Sprinkle chicken with pepper. Add chicken to skillet; cook 5-6 minutes or until lightly browned, turning after 3 minutes and cook until chicken juices run clear. Pour sauce over chicken; sprinkle evenly with cheese. Place lid on skillet until cheese melts, about 3 minutes.
2 responses

Leave a Reply

