Turkey Enchilada Casserole

Working on the last of the Thanksgiving leftovers.  This was a great & easy way to use up more of the turkey.  My husband and I both enjoyed it.  Naturally I needed a dollop of sour cream to top it off, while my husband preferred to use tortilla chips as scoopers for the casserole.  As usual, I combed blogs and web sites for different recipes and combined my favorite parts of several.  This is what I came up with:

TURKEY ENCHILADA CASSEROLE

  • 2 cups cooked, diced turkey
  • 1/4 cup chopped green onion
  • 1 small can sliced olives
  • 1 can (29 oz.) red enchilada sauce
  • 6 corn tortillas (about)
  • 2 cups shredded cheese of choice (I chose a Mexican blend)
  • chopped fresh cilantro
  • sour cream (if desired)

Preparation

  1. Combine first 3 ingredients and 1 cup of the enchilada sauce.  I heated it up in a skillet, but I’m not certain that is necessary.
  2. Spray a small casserole dish with cooking spray. Tear some tortillas to cover bottom of casserole dish. Layer cheese, cilantro, turkey mixture, extra sauce (about 1/3 cup) and torn tortillas about two or three times.  Top with cheese.
  3.  Bake at 425° until cheese is melted and casserole is hot in the center, about 20 minutes. Sprinkle with chopped cilantro and dollop with sour cream.

Leave a Reply

