Aunt Bethann’s Banana Pudding

bananapudding This recipe is something special.  I’m not going to claim that it will “change your life” like many other exuberant food bloggers do when touting a favorite recipe.  But I will say that I have no interest in banana pudding – or any pudding, for that matter – unless it is this recipe.  I brought it to a potluck once where the host and hostess actually fought over the last few spoonfuls left in the dish (which I was waiting to wash and take home with me).  I don’t know if it’s the bananas coated in lemon juice, or the sweetened condensed milk, or simply all the ingredients coming together in perfect harmony, but whatever the reason, it’s a delicious dessert.  I made this for our Easter dinner.

 

INGREDIENTS:
1 (14 ounce) can EAGLE BRAND® Sweetened Condensed Milk (NOT evaporated milk)
1 1/2 cups cold water
1 (3.4 ounce) package instant vanilla pudding mix
2 cups whipping cream, whipped
vanilla wafers

3 medium bananas, sliced

1 TBS lemon juice

DIRECTIONS:
1. In large mixing bowl, combine EAGLE BRAND® and water. Add pudding mix; beat until well blended. Chill 5 minutes.  Fold in whipped cream.

2. Combine sliced bananas and lemon juice in a separate bowl.

3. In a trifle dish or glass bowl, place a layer of vanilla wafers to cover bottom.  Scoop and spread 1/4 of pudding mixture over wafers.  Add a layer of bananas.  Add another 1/4 layer of pudding.  Add a layer of vanilla wafers.  Add another 1/4 layer of pudding.  Add a layer of bananas.  Top with last of pudding mixture.  (You can see from my picture that I like to add vanilla wafers up the side of the trifle dish as well.)

Chill thoroughly and store leftovers covered in refrigerator.