Shrimp & Avocado Salad with Miso Dressing

shrimpsalad2

Tonight was a hot night in Seattle and this was the perfect chilled meal.  I made the dressing and cooked the shrimp in the morning when the house was still cool and placed both in the fridge.  At dinner time, I quickly put the salad together and was so excited to eat it that I forgot to sprinkle cilantro and peanuts over the top!  Even so, this was simply delicious.  I’ve never worked with miso before.  I’ve had miso soup plenty of times, but other than that, I’m not sure I’ve had it anything else until this evening.  The dressing is a sweet lime one.  It’s different from anything I’ve tasted before and at first, I wasn’t sure what I thought, but with each bite, I became a huge fan.  I am already looking forward to having this salad for lunch again tomorrow, but this time, I wont forget the cilantro and peanuts.

I found the recipe on this blog: A Pinch of Yum.  The only changes I made were to add carrots and substitute sugar for agave (didn’t have any) in the dressing and I actually halved the amount of sugar as well.

INGREDIENTS
For the salad:
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • ½ pound raw shrimp, tails removed
  • ½ tablespoon butter
  • ½ teaspoon chili powder
  • ¼ teaspoon cayenne
  • 1½ cups sliced avocados (2 small), diced
  • 1 cucumber, peeled and diced
  • 1 or 2 carrots, shredded or matchstick
  • 4 cups chopped spinach or baby kale
  • fresh chopped cilantro for topping
  • peanuts for topping
For the dressing:
  • 1 1-inch piece of fresh peeled ginger, grated
  • 3 tablespoons oil (I used Canola)
  • 3 tablespoons lime juice
  • 1 tablespoon of sugar (more or less to taste)
  • 1½ tablespoons white miso
  • ½ teaspoon minced garlic
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
INSTRUCTIONS
  1. Heat the butter in a medium skillet over medium-high heat. Add the garlic and shrimp; sprinkle with the chili powder and cayenne directly in the pan. Saute for a few minutes on each side until the shrimp are no longer clear and have a nice golden color on the outside.
  2. Chop the spinach or baby kale into small bite sized pieces.  Add avocado, cucumber, carrots and shrimp.
  3. Puree all the dressing ingredients together in a food processor until smooth. Taste and adjust to your preferences. Pour the dressing over the salad and serve immediately (or store the individual parts separately in the refrigerator until ready to serve). Top with fresh cilantro and peanuts for crunch.
One response

Leave a Reply

